Betting on The Wimbledon

How to Bet the Wimbledon

The Championships, Wimbledon, commonly known simply as Wimbledon is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and is held by many as the most prestigious of the four major grand slams. It was founded in 1877 and there have been 133 editions so far.

It’s been held at the All England Club in Wimbledon, London, since 1877 and is played on outdoor grass courts and with a retractable roof over Centre Court since 2009. Since the Australian Open’s decision to move to hardcourt in 1988, Wimbledon remains the only major to be played on grass, the classic tennis surface.

The tournament takes place over two weeks beginning in early June after recent changes to the tennis calendar. Wimbledon’s strict dress code is famous as competitors and royal patronage must adhere to an all-white dress code.

The history of Wimbledon is chock full of great tidbits and winning Wimbledon is commonly seen as the pinnacle of a tennis player’s career; to be able to compete and win in the country that founded tennis in the most prestigious competition.

Best Sportsbooks 2020

  • New Jersey
  • Most popular
  • Pennsylvania
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Colorado
  • Illinois

The Wimbledon; Where Legends are Made

It’s one where legends are made and perhaps the greatest tennis player of all time won his first-ever major at the All England Club. 16 years later, Roger Federer has a record of men’s grand slam titles with a total of 20, eight of those occurring at Wimbledon. Not only does Federer hold the record for most men’s singles titles with eight, five of them came in a row from 2003 to 2007.

Federer also made seven Wimbledon finals in a row, including when he lost in 2008 in an iconic clash against Rafael Nadal before regaining his title in 2009 in a five-set thriller with Andy Roddick. The 2008 clash is considered by many to be the greatest tennis match of all-time.

Federer’s dominance at Wimbledon speaks to the surface of grass and the fact that the serve and return strategy plays a major part in determining the outcome of the point. Bad bounces are a regularity on a slippery grass-court, therefore, players must reach the ball faster compared to other surfaces.

Jul 14, 2019; London, United Kingdom; Roger Federer (SUI) in action during his men’s final match against Novak Djokovic (SRB) on day 13 at the All England Lawn and Croquet Club. Mandatory Credit: Susan Mullane-USA TODAY Sports

Rallies are likely to be brief, therefore speed and power have a greater impact which is why great serve and rally players like Federer and Pete Sampras have dominated in the past. Sampras is heralded by many as one of the greatest grass-court players of all time. Sampras won seven Wimbledon singles titles in eight years from 1993 through 2000 with just one loss in that timespan.

In recent times, a new man has shown his dominance on grass and that is Novak Djokovic. Five of his 17 grand slams have come on grass and he’s won four of the last six Wimbledon titles.

The Ageless Wonder Held Court at Wimbledon for Decades

In the women’s game, Martina Navratilova reigns supreme with a record nine Wimbledon singles title, more than any other in both the men’s and women’s game. There have been four different winners in the last four years at Wimbledon with Simona Halep the reigning champion after a dominant 6-2, 6-2 performance against Serena Williams.

Best Bets for Wimbledon 2020

Halep has finally hit her stride and at the age of 28, she’s smack dab in her prime. She’s won grand slams in consecutive years and many see her retaining her Wimbledon title this July.

As for the men’s game, Djokovic has won the last two Wimbledon titles and I believe he’ll make it a third. Federer will always be competitive, having lost to Djokovic in last year’s final.

A dark horse could be Rafael Nadal whose resurgence over the last few years after several knee injuries has been nothing short of remarkable. However, he’s not won a Wimbledon title since 2010 and hasn’t reached a final since 2011.

There are several young stars in men’s tennis coming up with Stefanos Tsitsipas, Dominic Thiem, Daniil Medvedev and Alexander Zverev who will all be looking to claim their maiden grand slam at the house that built tennis.