Betting on the Australian Open

How to Bet the Australian Open

The Australian Open is a tennis tournament held annually over the last fortnight of January in Melbourne, Australia. The competition is the first Grand Slam of the year as it precedes the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

It was founded in 1905 as the Australasian Championships, and the Australian Open is the highest attended grand slam event of all time with more than 812,000 people attending the 2020 tournament. It was also the first grand slam to feature indoor play during extreme weather conditions with its three main courts.

The Dominance of the “Djoker” at the Australian Open

The Australian Open is nicknamed “the happy slam” and for one particular tennis player, that couldn’t ring any truer. Novak Djokovic, the 17-time grand slam winner has dominated the tournament since his first win in 2008.

Since then, Djokovic has won seven Australian Open’s in the last 10 years, surpassing the six titles won by Roy Emerson and Roger Federer to have the most singles titles in Australian Open history. Djokovic is always the smart move when betting on the Australian Open, even if some people are still very sentimental and look to “the Fed” as their man.

Out of the four grand slam tournaments, the US Open and the Australian Open use hard courts, which has similar characteristics to those of a grass court with little energy absorption by the court and the fast pace of the game.

The serve and volley type of play is one that succeeds at the Australian Open, justified by Federer’s six titles there while Rafael Nadal–who’s game is completely different to that of Federer–has just one title in Australia. The reason being, Nadal relies on his consistency and athleticism throughout rallies rather than an overwhelming serve and volley game.

Who Really Owns the Court at the Australian Open

Margaret Court’s name will forever be etched in history with 24 grand slams, the record of the sport. The Australian native has a court named after her at the Australian

Tennis: Australian Open

Open named the Margaret Court Arena after the heroics, she’s performed at her home tournament.

Court won 11 Australian Opens, the most out of any man or woman in competition history. Her last victory was in 1973 and in 2020, a new wave of young female tennis players are taking over the sport. 21-year old American Sofia Kenin won her maiden grand slam earlier this year in the competition coming from a set down to defeat Garbine Muguruza.

There have been five different female winners in the last five years of the Australian Open and it’s a kind of unpredictability we haven’t seen in the women’s game for decades. Before the era of dominance from the Williams sisters (Venus and Serena), we saw dominance from Monica Seles, Steffi Graf and Martina Navratilova in previous decades.

In the men’s game, despite the increase of precocious young talent over the last few years, the same three men who’ve dominated over the last 15 years continue to be at the top of their game.

Novak Djokovic will be the favorite to win the Australian Open whenever he competes in it and Naomi Osaka is best placed to take hold of the mantle as the best player in women’s tennis with two grand slams already to her name.