UEFA European Championship

UEFA Euro 2020 Odds and Previews

The UEFA European Championship, commonly known as the Euros, is the primary European competition contested by men’s senior national teams who are members of the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA). 

The competition has been held every four years since 1960, in the even-numbered year between World Cup tournaments and was originally called the European Nations’ Cup. 

While host nations automatically qualify for the tournament, there is a qualifying process where teams either qualify for the final tournament or advance to the playoff stages where teams must win a two-legged tie to reach the final tournament. 

The champions of the Euros also earn the opportunity to compete in the FIFA Confederations Cup, where nations who’ve won their respective trophy in their continent compete against one another. 

In15 European Championship tournaments, 10 national teams have won the competition with Germany and Spain leading the way with three titles each. Spain remains the only side in history to win consecutive tournaments after winning in 2008 and 2012.  

The Euros is the second most-watched football tournament in the world after the World Cup as the Euro 2012 final was watched by a global audience of around 300 million. 

The most recent championship in 2016 was hosted in France who faced Portugal in the final where Portugal defeated France 1-0 in extra time to earn their first-ever European championship trophy.

Best Sportsbooks 2020

  • New Jersey
  • Most popular
  • Pennsylvania
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Colorado
  • Illinois

Greatest Players and Feats in Euros Championship History

Some of the greatest players in history have appeared in the Euros and records of the historic competition demonstrate that. French football legend Michel Platini and Portuguese icon Cristiano Ronaldo hold the record for most goals in Finals competition with nine goals.

Ronaldo also holds the record for most goals scored, including qualifying with 40 goals spread across five competitions from 2004 to 2020.

At each Euros, three individual awards are given out; top scorer, best player, and the best young player.

In Euro 2016, finalist Antoine Griezmann won both the top scorer with six goals and best player while Euro 2016 winner Renato Sanches snatched up the best young player award. 

The competition has adapted with time and embraced changes as Euro 2016 was the first Euros to have 24 teams in the finals. Teams who lost the semi-finals of the competition used to receive bronze medals, the last of which was given to Germany and Portugal in 2012.  

However, UEFA decided that from 2016 and onwards, the losing semi-finalists will no longer receive medals. The last nation to host and win the Euros was in 1964 when Spain defeated Soviet Union 2-1 in the finals. 

The upcoming Euro 2020 this summer will be the first to be held in 12 cities in 12 UEFA countries to celebrate the 60th birthday of the European Championship competition. Wembley Stadium in London will host the semi-finals and final for the second time while Rome’s Stadio Olimpico will host the competitions opening game between Turkey and hosts Italy. 

Furthermore, the video assistant referee (VAR) system will be used at the Euros this summer for the first time. No matter which country comes out on top—whether it be a traditional powerhouse or an upstart country—OddsUSA will be here to provide all the latest Euro 2020 odds and bring you all the Euro 2020 previews for every group and playoff matcup.