NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

Betting on the NFL is the most popular form of sports betting in the United States and the NFL futures market is a big reason why.  In addition to betting on the team you think will win the Super Bowl, you can also bet on the individual players you believe will take home the NFL MVP award, offensive player of the year, and defensive player of the year. 

However, another wrinkle in the NFL futures market lies in betting on the rookie that you believe will take home the NFL ROY (Rookie of the Year) award. The NFL ROY market is separated into two categories, one for offense (NFL OROY) and one for defense (NFL DROY).  

Each market brings an allure for both casual and professional bettors alike, but we’ll be looking at the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. Don’t worry, you can find the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year odds on OddsUSA as well. Many new bettors to the sport will like to make a side wager on their teams new prized rookie to be named Rookie of the Year at the end of the season, while many pro bettors will try to find the hidden gem on offense that can put some extra money in their pockets at the end of the season. 

Here’s how to bet on the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year odds: 

Betting on the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

Unlike the NFL MVP award which heavily favors quarterbacks, the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year award tends to heavily favor running backs. There are reasons for this, namely that it is much more common for a rookie running back to step in from day one and have a lasting impact on a team’s offense than it is for a quarterback who is typically gently inserted into a team’s offense as the season goes on.

Very rarely do you see a quarterback start from day one and have a tremendous impact on a team’s season (at least in a positive manner). Although Kyler Murray brought home the award while quarterbacking the Arizona Cardinals last season, the previous two winners were both running backs and seven of the last 11 winners of this award have been a running back or wide receiver. Overall, 35 of 54 winners of this award have been running backs.

With that being said, here is an example of how the board may look like at your preferred sportsbook when looking at the NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year futures market:

Odds to win NFL Offensive ROY 
Justin Herbert -900
Justin Jefferson +900
Tua Tagovailoa +1000
Chase Claypool +1700
Clyde Edwards-Helaire +3000
James Robinson +3800

In this example, QB Justin Herbert is considered the favorite for Offensive Rookie of the Year because he is a quarterback that has put up excellent numbers in his first NFL season. After that you see you see Minnesota’s electric wide receiver Justin Jefferson followed by Tua Tagovailoa, Chase Claypool, and a pair of running backs in CEH and James Robinson.  

If you are hoping for somebody that isn’t a quarterback to win the award, then you may want to consider placing a bet on the Vikings’ Justin Jefferson or Pittsburgh’s Chase Claypool. If you think it’s going to be another quarterback taking the reins, either in LA or Miami, then you would go with Herbert or Tua. The history-based model would say the running backs, and in this case, if you went with Edwards-Helaire as the favorite running back, a wager of $100 would bring you back $3000, plus your original $100 wager. 

Best Sportsbooks 2020

  • New Jersey
  • Most popular
  • Pennsylvania
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Colorado
  • Illinois

NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year Trends

Before making your wager on the rookie you believe will set the NFL world on fire, you should know these trends going in. 

  • Running backs have won NFL OROY in two of the last three seasons and three of the last five 
  • Dak Prescott (2016) and Kyler Murray (2019) are the only quarterbacks to win the award in the last seven seasons 
  • Dan Marino is the only quarterback in NFL history to win OROY with fewer than 12 starts in his rookie season 
  • No tight end or offensive lineman has ever won the NFL OROY award 
  • Among the 54 Offensive Rookie of the Year award winners – 39 of them were drafted in the first round and 47 were drafted in the first two rounds.