NBA Most Improved Player Odds

Betting on the NBA Most Improved Player Odds

Some NBA players have short careers, lasting only a single season, while others go on to have legendary careers spanning literal decades (four if you are Vince Carter). The players with the long, successful careers all have one thing in common; they knew how to make adjustments and improve from year-to-year. Well, with basketball betting online now legal, you can profit off of which players will make the biggest leaps every year and bet on the NBA Most Improved Players odds. 

The NBA has all sorts of individual awards like the standard NBA MVP Award, but they also have other individual awards that concentrate on certain aspects of the game like the NBA Defensive Player of the Year award as well as the NBA Rookie of the Year. However, the NBA Most Improved Player Award (NBA MIP) can be anyone who makes a noticeable jump, whether that be on the defensive end, the offensive end, or maybe they just turned into a vacuum cleaner on the glass.  

Best Sportsbooks 2020

  • New Jersey
  • Most popular
  • Pennsylvania
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Colorado
  • Illinois

NBA Most Improved Player History

The NBA Most Improved Player award goes back to the 1985-1986 season when Alvin Robertson of the San Antonio Spurs took home the trophy. For the first decade or so of the award’s existence, the NBA MIP did not exactly signal great things to come, but rater went to players who made great leaps and then stagnated a bit. There were few big names that took home the trophy (although sometimes supremely big men—like Gheorghe Muresan—nabbed the honor), but that all changed in 1998-1999 when Darrell Armstrong was deemed to be the NBA’s Most Improved Player.

That started an amazing six year stretch where the NBA MIP would be just the beginning. Jalen Rose followed Armstrong as the NBA MIP and then things really got cooking as Tracy McGrady became the second Magic in three years to win it, and he gave way to Jermaine O’Neal who won the award, becoming the second Pacer two win it in three years. O’Neil later handed the trophy off to Gilbert Arenas for his play in 2002-2003 with the Golden State Warriors before the stretch ended with one of the better big men of the 2000s in Zach Randolph.

Lately the award has once again become a harbinger of bigger things to come as All-Stars, MVPs, and NBA Finals X-factors dot the list. Kevin Love pulled in the honor in 2010-2011, Paul George won it once more for the Pacers in 2012-2013 while Giannis Antetokounmpo was the clear winner in 2016-2017. Yet another Pacer won it in 2017-2018 (they have had a player win the award five times) when Victor Oladipo ran away with the award, outpacing Clint Capela while Pascal Siakam beat out D’Angelo Russell the following year.  

We tell you all this because if you are the type of person who likes to bet on NBA Futures, specifically the NBA MVP award, it’s a good idea to pay attention to the NBA MIP odds. But no matter what the reason you want to play, and no matter what the reason one player gets the NBA Most Improved Player award, OddsUSA will be here very week updating the NBA Most Improved Player odds so you can make the best bet with your money. Good Luck!